Five things I learned in my first three months as a part-time law student

by CoCo

So here is what I learned from surviving my first three months as a part-time law student:

  1. At least 20 hours per week should be devoted to studying otherwise you will fall behind on readings, lectures, and tutorials
  2. Mocks are extremely useful but only when you actually fully participate
  3. Legal writing is a skill that needs to be honed with practice
  4. Learning the proper names of case law is not an option, it’s a must

Also, it didn’t take long for me to realize I’ve bitten off more than I can chew by committing to work full-time and parent at the same time. One of them had to go and the choice was obvious.

I am so thankful to have the emotional and economic support of my husband which enabled me to quit my day job and focus on my dream. I know not everyone is so lucky. The way he sees it, having a mom who doesn’t give up on personal development will ultimately be good for our daughter as well. AND I get to spend more time with her as a stay-at-home mom which is definitely a plus for all of us!

I am attempting to catch up on school work over this holiday/reading week which will be painful and challenging as I am behind in almost all subjects: Contact, Tort and Constitution & Administrative Law. The more I fell behind, the more I felt unmotivated to plow through. Things got out of hand and I was miserable, wondering why I’ve done this to myself in the first place. Which brings me to my final lessons learned:

5. Grit is important and don’t forget to have fun while you’re at it

