Path to studying the right way

by LM

I’m a genius. So it turns out that I’ve been approaching my GDL studying backwards. At BPP Law School, you are meant to read the books, attend the lecture (listen to the recorded lecture if you are doing it by distance learning like I am), prepare your answer for tutorial questions, go through the questions during the tutorial to make sure you’ve learned the material and consolidate. Instead, I rather mysteriously started with the tutorials.

Don’t ask me to explain the logic of my thinking. All I can say is that I made a wrong turn somewhere between missing the orientation session due to work and abandoning school when Esther came down with a nasty case of the flu for two weeks. The fact that they didn’t provide a separate schedule for part-time distance learners didn’t help either.

The good news is that all will be well if I can turn things around and establish a more sensible and logical method of studying during this holiday/reading week. I went on the internet to get advice from people who already did their GDL and found this old blog post (link) by a helpful person named Ashley Connick which gave me some ideas.

Anyway, even before I realized I’ve been going at it backwards I knew my biggest challenge without a doubt will be memorizing case-law. I had pretty decent retention skills back in uni and grad school, but after five years of working and juggling family my memory isn’t what it used to be. I am so distracted all the f*king time. I’m sure all working moms can relate. So I sought advice and found this post (link) on LearnMore by Lawbore to be a helpful starting point. Will see if any of it works for me.

Today I’m revising the Human Rights Act 1998 for Con & Ad which mostly came into force on 2 October 2000. Fascinating stuff.

 

